On Tuesday we received a significant donation from the sister of Bill Sargent, Judy Boles. Bill passed away on March 4. In the letter that accompanied the donation, Judy said “My brother had known Pete for a number of years and we had discussed what he would like after his passing. He wanted some money to go to Pete’s basketball. Thank you for all you do to carry on Pete’s legacy”.

Our condolences to Judy and the Sargent family on their loss. Thank you for believing in what we do to carry on Don’s dream.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment


I have been reluctant to write posts during this crisis, but an email I received from a league family this morning asking if my wife and I were okay and if we needed anything, has prompted me to sit down on the keyboard and write a little. The email was a reminder that our league is very much a family and a community that care about each other, and also a reminder that these days are an opportunity for us to call, e mail, and check in on each other to see if people need any help. There are no doubt seniors in your life that could use someone to talk to because they may be either unable or afraid to go out. There are workers that can’t go to work because their businesses have been ordered to close down and may just like the chance to talk to someone. There are people in our community and league family that go to work in high risk positions that are worried about what the day will bring, and there are others that are working in the few businesses that remain open that look at each customer with a smile, but wonder if that last transaction was with someone that may be infected but didn’t know it. These are times that heighten anxiety and make many people turn inward. Reach out to those around you to talk, or in most cases just listen to what they have to say.

I have seen variations of this many times in the last few weeks and it can be easily adjusted to our organization.

When this is over, I will no longer take for granted :

The sound of basketballs bouncing
The sound of whistles blowing
The sound of children laughing
The availability of gummy worms at the canteen
Being able to spend time with my friends
The smell of the uniforms
The “good game” high fives
Rob and Chris asking “Guess what time it is?” at half time
Using the flip chart score board
The post game fan changes and the meeting of people
Parents and players helping set up and clean up.

What about you?

Stay well, stay safe and stay together. RB

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Five Guys Results Are In!

The results from our Dine to Donate event at Five Guys Burgers and Fries are in and…

338 Burgers
37 Poutine
134 Milkshakes

were sold, giving us a total of $ 559 in funds raised, just $10 off the store record set by us last fall, but more than $100 more than what was raised at our post season event last March. Add in the $120 in individual donations and grand total for this event brings in $679 to the league. Our thanks to the staff and leadership group at Five Guys, and to all of you that came out or ordered in food Wednesday night. This is always a great event and we look forward to the next opportunity to further strengthen this local partnership. As Aubert Prevost from Five Guys wrote to us ” We really appreciate the partnership, and the crew is having a blast every time.” So are we Aubert.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Congratulations Erin Finn!

This week Erin Finn, a former player and long time volunteer coach in the league was recognized for her community work by Remax Realty and has donated her $500 recognition cheque to the league. Along with being a volunteer with us, Erin is also a coach at Regiopolis and is involved with several local charities, co-ordinating fund raising events throughout the year. Congratulations Erin ! Thank you for believing in what we do!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Thank you Friends of Mike McAuley

Last month we received a call from Jacqueline and Patrick Severin, friends of Mike McAuley, a former player, coach, parent and life long supporter in the league that passed away two years ago. They had co-ordinated a fund raising event in memory of Mike and wanted to donate the funds raised back to the league. Mike, his wife Lynne and his children Zoe and Grady, along with his parents Greg and Trish, will forever be part of the league family. We thank them and their friends for continuing to believe in what we do, and for keeping Mike’s memory alive by making a difference in the lives of our players.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Five Guys Burgers and Fries. Event

Our thanks to the management and staff at Five Guys Burgers and Fries on Gardiners Road, and to our many league supporters that came out to enjoy the great food and service or opted for take out. It was a fun night, and a chance to visit with the league families. Enjoy the photos and we will post the total raised from th e event as soon as we hear. Our thanks to everyone for making a difference in our players lives!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Five Guys Dine to Donate Event is Today!

The day has finally arrived for our Dine to Donate event at Five Guys Burgers and Fries at 770 Gardiners Road!!! From 5 until 8:30 tonight $1 from every burger, poutine, and milkshake sold will come back to the league and make a difference in the lives of our players. Help us spread the word by telling your friends , neighbours and co-workers about the great burgers, excellent poutine and the huge variety of milkshake flavour options available. You will not be disappointed, and the staff is eagerly awaiting our arrival tonight. See you there!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Unclaimed Awards from the 2020 Banquet

We have awards for the following players from the 2020 banquet

Sam Tan
Jacob Seymour
Cole Brunet
Max Gill
Luke Sheppard
Sasha Wheeler – Dee
Bill McIlroy

We will have them at the Five Guys Event tomorrow evening if you would like to pick them up there. Thanks

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Banquet Posters

The posters in this album were left after the banquet. If you appear in them, and would like to pick them up, they will be at the Five Guys Dine to Donate Event on March 11. You can pick them up while you help support the league. See you there!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Banquet Thanks

Due to the interrupted “thank you” portion of the remarks at the banquet Sunday, the following contributors to the success of the banquet failed to be mentioned.

Mulrooney Trucking supplied the CO 2 tank for the fog machine
Chris and Colin Wilson at A World of Rentals supplied the scaffolding at the stage
Bridget Walker Payne Desjardins Insurance supplied props for the opening as well as the juice boxes and Timbits at registration
Grant Hoekstra recorded the banquet
Mary O’Neil Howlett and McDonald’s Family Restaurants supplied the coffee for the banquet as well as for registration

Also during the last week of the season “Papa Joe” Tessier supplied the music and was our DJ the last week of the season.

Our thanks to these individuals and busineses for believing in what we do for childrren in the community.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment