Annual Awards Banquet Winners 2024

The Don “Pete” Petersen Trophy: This award is presented annually to the individual from each division rendering the greatest and most faithful service to the general good of the league.

Little Guys Luis Dematos

Little Gals Rose Dean

Girls Julie Whitbread

Biddy Colin Purcell and Emmitt Irwin

Graduate Grace Woodman

The Referee’s Trophy: This award is given annually to the coaches of the year in each division who best exemplify what coaching in the league is all about.

Little Guys Jayhawks – Matt Glass and Thomas Vink

Little Gals Monarchs – Brock Easter Sheen and Chris McCarthy- Brideau

Girls Storm – Kate Kelsey and Shanna Todd

Biddy Nuggets – Brock Poirier and Ahmer Shazad

Graduate Bulls – Nikki Irwin and Will Hansen

The Guy Wells Trophy: This trophy is given to the male and female players who best exemplify what the league stands for – sportsmanship, fair play, team play and leadership.

(female winners) – Lyra Branscombe and Eden Branscombe – Storm

(male winners) – Miles Cantarutti – Celtics and Will Kerr – Hawks

The Tony Pettitt Award: This award, started in 2007 was put in place in memory of long time league supporter Tony Pettitt and is given to recognize the contributions of a non-coaching, adult volunteer.

Colin Purcell

Holy Cross Secondary School Summer Camps

Little Guys Spencer MacGregor – Jayhawks

Little Gals Monarch Malinowski – Slammers

The Bill MacLeod Memorial Cup: This award is given annually to the player in each division who best reflects the spirit of the league format “Just for the Fun of it”

Little Guys Liam Dematos – Wildcats

Little Gals Olivia Semchison – Rockers

Girls Grace Eves – Sparks

Biddy Eli Sothmann – Spurs

Graduate Zach Griffin – Heat

The Lenny Falcoa Award : This award is given for the TEAM OF THE YEAR in each division that best exemplifies the hustle, team work, and all around attitude that makes the league so much fun.

Little Guys Tarheels – Cory and Haden Hollywood

Little Gals Aztecs – Shakaya Dopwell and Maddy MacKenzie

Girls Starzz – mary Jane Besselink and Mary O’Neill – Howlett

Biddy Orange – Paul Medeiros and Jack Molson

Graduate Sixers – Jolene O’Brien and Fraser McArthur

Two Ball Champions and Runners-up : These are the winning teams and the runners up from a two ball tournament held for all league players in November.

Little Guys Winners- Morrie Mignault and Sebastian Romero-Matthews

Runners – up – John Allen and Maveris DeSilva-Cobb

Little Gals Winners – Claire Sweet and Lottie O’Donnell Runners – up – Annika Fogels and Charlotte Soucy

Girls Winners – Zoey Black and Summer Vallier

Runners – up- Ruby Castle and Anastasza Windover

Biddy Winners – Grey Malinowski and Eli Sothmann

Runners – up – Carter MacKenzie and Bentley Babcock

Graduate Winners – Colton Irwin and Wesley Black

Runners – up – Oscar Martinez-Munier and Ryan Kyle

Trinity Van Heddegem Memorial Award for the Little Gals Rookie of the Year. This award was established in memory of Trinity VanHeddegem, a player on the Golden Gals that tragically died during the 2012-2013 season.

Serenity Smith – Tigers

Avery Doering – Lions

The Gerry Besselink Award : This award is given for effort, respect and dedication to the league.

Emmitt Irwin

St. Lawrence Basketball Camp Awards for one week at the camp this summer

Girls Myla Harvey-Shields – Sky

Biddy Liam Kirkpatrick – Spurs

Graduate Warren Berry – Celtics

The Bucky Spencer Memorial Free Throw Champions: This award goes to the best free throw shooters in the league in each age group.

Age group Winners

Boys 8 years Leyton Locke – Hoyas

9 years Grayden McMillan – Hoyas

10 years Christopher MacKenzie -Mills – Hoyas

11 years Preston Bolton – Raptors

Kolton Buscaino – Spurs

12 years Dylan Morris – Raptors

13 years Graham Hinch – Celtics

14 years Saha Wheeler-Dee – Bulls

15 Years Darren Fernandes – Sixers

Girls 8 years Harper Langridge – Aztecs

9 years Annika Fogels – Lions

10 years Ava Abbott – Slammers

11 years Adriana Bracciodieta – Storm

12 years Sadie O’Donnell – Liberty

13 years Jaden Hope – Dream

14 years Karen Hernandez – Castillo – Sky

Most Improved Players in each Division:

Little Guys Hudson Murray – Hoosiers

Little Gals

Ambrielle Cabral – Aztecs

Girls Mira Vanyolai – Liberty and

Jaden Hope – Dream

Biddy Oliver Moreland – Suns and Beau Riley – Orange


Warren Cosgrove – Heat

The Most Valuable Players in each division:

Little Guys Sebastian Romero-Mathews – Mustangs and

John Allen – Wolfpack

Little Gals Aliyah Brean – Golden Gals


Hailey Henderson – Monarchs

Girls Savanah Deszpoth – Mercury

Biddy Dylan Johnston – Nuggets

Graduate Sasha Wheeler- Dee- Bulls

The Most Sportsmanlike Players in each division

Little Guys Callum Michael Petras – Hoyas

Little Gals Stella Boussougou – Rebels

Girls Karen Hernandez-Castillo – Sky

Biddy Koen Walmsley – Raptors

Graduate Dylan Sutton – Warriors

The Carm Londry Trophy for the player in each division that shares the ball with team mates.

Little Guys Kale Svenson – Jayhawks


Connor Warren – Tarheels

Little Gals Reese MacLean – Lions

Girls Janelle Shoniker – Starzz

Biddy Connor Broeders – Magic


Hudson Murray – Jazz

Graduate Jericho Bridgen – Hawks

The Top Defensive Players in each division

Little Guys Felix Arnold – Huskies


Nathaniel Tilley – Tarheels

Little Gals Teleah White – Tigers

Girls Summer Vallier – Sting

Biddy Joe McNutt Brown – Grizzlies

Graduate J.J. Stolz – Celtics

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.