Calista Payne

Congratulations to former player and volunteer Calista Payne on winning the Juel/Juel Prep Community Service Award as well as the Mackenzie Curran Inspirational Award over the weekend. Special recognition for one of our volunteers making a difference.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New York Times Article

I came across this very interesting article from the New York Times in a tweet from Queen’s Professor Jean Cote last night. It speaks to the importance of children playing a variety of sports to avoid injuries, burnout and drop out.

Here is the link to paste in your browser:



Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment


Yesterday we received a significant donation from former player Ben Hawkins to help support the league. Ben is the grandson of the late Joe Hawkins, a long time Kingston City councillor, local sports supporter, and along with Don Petersen, a member of the Kingston and District Sports Hall of Fame. With the donation was a note that read in part

““A neat memory popped into my mind recently since I first reached out to you. One summer during my years attending St. Pat’s elementary, i was messing around with a basketball on the hoops at the back of the school, when suddenly a door opened from a change room and out popped Pete’s head. On two occasions that summer, he invited me into the gym to practice free throws. He said that everything else could be practiced on any old net, but to practice free throws in a gym was a true luxury. He’d leave me there in the gym for the afternoon and go about his custodial duties, returning periodically to check-in on me and watch. He’d be sure to offer his best advice if he saw me struggling. I’ll never forget that.

I have many fond memories like that of Pete, and many fond memories of playing in the K of C League. I have even more memories of my grandfather Joe, and all of the times I spent with him, helping with the Kids 4 Kids Hockey Tournament, among other things. I learned a lot from both of them, and I ask that you please accept this donation in memory of Joe Hawkins and Pete Petersen, two of the most selfless and hard working men I’ve known. I know it will be put to good use.

Another thing I’ll never forget is the slideshow at the banquet each year. For me, that was pretty special. Thanks for the great memories.”

Thank you Ben for remembering us, and for believing in what we do.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Kingston and District Sports Hall of Fame

Last night I had the distinct pleasure of attending the annual induction dinner for the five newest members of the Kingston and District Sports Hall of Fame at the Ramada Inn. What a great night to celebrate sports in Kingston with a room packed with former inductees and sports people across generations there to support the 2018 inductees Ross Cameron (Sailing), Hank Kelly (Hockey and Baseball), Bruce Landon (Hockey), Mike McCullough (Football), and Alec Murray (Basketball). Congratulations to all of you for your lifetimes of contribution to sport in Kingston! RB

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Ontario Volunteer Service Awards

Last night one of the 47 Ontario Volunteer Service Awards recognition events that will be held this year around the province took place in Kingston and we were fortunate enough to have eight of our league volunteers recognized with awards for their various lengths of service. Each year the province allows organizations to nominate up to six adults and three youth volunteers for recognition, and this year our youth volunteers were Taylor Young and Megan Major-Thompson, and our adult volunteers were Matt Charlton, Paul Medeiros, Stephanie Charlton, Louise Frink, Laurie Leeman and Mary Willing. In total at the event volunteers were recognized for 1177 years of volunteering and our group represented 58 of those years. Our thanks to the province for holding these events to recognize the impact that volunteers have on the communities in Ontario, and our congratulations to our volunteers and their families for making such a positive impact to the children in our league.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Humboldt Broncos

I have found myself thinking constantly the last two days about the Humboldt Broncos players and their families, as well as the people that know and love them. They were a team in the true sense of the word, and the reaction of the sports community everywhere in Canada and beyond our borders shows that they were part of so much more than that. They are part of the extended family that includes every player, coach, team official, referee, parent and fan that has ever climbed aboard a bus, whether it was a highway coach or a yellow racer school bus, a van, a car or a taxi and set out from home to participate in a sporting event. Regardless of which sport any of us have been involved in, thousands of the groups listed above have been on the road and in the air every week pursuing a dream or simply doing what they love to do ever since our games have been played. It is this common pursuit that binds us all and makes this tragedy so much more personal for those involved in sports. My condolences to the families of those that are gone, and my hope for a speedy recovery for those in hospital. For everyone travelling for sports, you now have extra guardian angels watching over you that were taken far too soon. RB

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Don “Pete” Petersen Memorial Golf Tournament

Date: Friday June 22, 2018.

Place: Glen Lawrence Golf Club, 2022 HWY 2

This fund raising event for the basketball league is an 8 am shotgun start.

The cost is $100 per player, and includes a shared cart, green fees, full course chicken dinner and a prize table.

To register please contact Rick Hollywood at 613-539-6765 ,, or Pat Adams at 613-770-2265,


Cheques made payable to the Pete Petersen Basketball League. etransfers can be sent to (password: basketball)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Kingston Frontenacs Event

Attention procrastinators! You have until 10 am tomorrow, GAMEDAY Friday March 16 to purchase your discount tickets for the Kingston Frontenacs game Friday night using the link below. We have been offered discounted tickets for the Kingston Frontenacs regular season finale and the tickets are $15 and can be ordered on line only at this price. We will get $2 back from every ticket sold. If you didn’t travel on the March Break this is a great way to finish the week and see some exciting hockey as the Frontenacs get ready for the playoffs.
Here is the link

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Kingston Frontenacs Event

We have been offered discounted tickets for the Kingston Frontenacs regular season finale next Friday night (March 16). For every $15 ticket sold through the link on line below, $2 will come back to the league. Whether you are finishing up the March Break or warming up for St. Patrick’s day, this should be an exciting game. Here is the link:

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Five Guys Dine to Donate Totals

We just received the totals from the Five Guys Dine to Donate event last night.
Burgers: 240
Poutine: 19
Milkshakes: 66
That brings the Five Guys portion to $325, and when added in to the $130 of in restaurant donations, we raised $455 last night. Our thanks to all who attended and that made donations. You have made a difference in the lives of the players in our league, and supported a local business that cares about the community where they operate.
Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment